Book Review

A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title:  A Court Of Thorns And Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 416

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy Tale Retelling, Romance

Format: Paperback

                                             

My Rating: 5/5 stars

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

A Court of Thorns and Roses is the first book in the ACOTAR series. Feyre, a nineteen year old human huntress, kills a wolf one night. She is dragged to a magical land, ruled by immortal faeries, by Tamlin to make up for what she had done. She slowly gets to know the faeries, and despite her burning hatred for them once upon a time, she wants to help them fight against the looming doom that overshadows the kingdom. Feyre must find a way to stop disaster striking the magical kingdom or doom Tamlin and his world forever.

This is definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year. A Court of Thorns and Roses is the second Sarah J. Maas book I’ve read and it’s clear to say that I’m hooked with her writing.

The characters were so well developed and it felt as if I were in Feyre’s shoes and experiencing everything she was going through. Lucien was sarcastic and a little hostile at the beginning but eventually opened up. He never failed to amuse me. Lucien was so honest and spoke his mind. Now I need a Lucien in my life to cheer me up. Tamlin was very different from his best friend Lucien; he was quieter, distant and tended to show little emotion. Tamlin left many clues in the story that I never picked up until the very end. Rhysand is one of those characters where I don’t know if I should trust. At first he was the ‘villain’ but he also cared about Feyre and helped at every moment he could. Even with his villainous aura, I actually love him more than Tamlin and definitely enjoyed his cunning personality. Feyre was definitely one of my characters from this book. She was brave and resilient, or maybe just plain stubborn, but she never gave up on freeing Tamlin and his kingdom. She was kind to her family, even when they looked down upon her.

This book was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It had many elements that reminded me of the original fairy tale but it was twisted so that the world was unique and intriguing. Unlike Throne of Glass, it was fast-paced and didn’t leave me bored at all. Close to the end of the novel, there was a riddle that Feyre had to answer in order to free her friends instantly. I honestly got the answer straight away and wondered why it took her a while to get it. The ending was well thought out and was cute with the moment shared between Tamlin and Feyre.

Overall, I enjoyed this book as it never bored me and kept me turning the pages constantly. I can’t wait for the next book and to see how Sarah J. Maas continues with this story.

love-stephanie

One thought on “A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

