Book Review

The Spirit Collectors by M. Amanuensis Sharkchild

Title: The Spirit Collectors

Author: M. Amanuensis Sharkchild

Pages: 193

Genre: Fantasy

Format: E-book

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads summary:

What is the worth of your spirit?

In the world of Awya, where life is scattered across isles in a seemingly endless ocean of black liquid, the Isle of Winder is home to uymns whose primary trade is agriculture and flower cultivation. Here, an umyn boy by the name of Amory Demshen becomes obsessed with Tempertime Cemetery—a collection of portals powered by spirits that link the isles of Awya together, and a place forbidden to those without proper training and knowledge.

Amory disobeys the laws and his mother, sacrificing the qualities of youth and the virtues of his upbringing to pursue a selfish adventure connived by a hidden, sinister force. Unnerving truths and perilous consequences await as Amory—equipped with an authoritative jar, a chest of bewitching cards, and a flying stone slab—plunges into the darkness of the spirit collectors.

Will Amory learn the worth of a spirit in time to save his own?

My Review:

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. My thoughts are 100% my own. Also thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

The cover of this book is gorgeous. It’s dark and mysterious like the story itself.

When I first started reading this, I thought, His going to get caught or do something stupid but never did I stop to think that the main character, Amory, would do the things he did. Amory’s fascination of the Tempertime Cemetery and the spirit world altogether made me hungry for more of the world. Soon, Amory’s desire for the Spirit World, became something I wanted as well, despite my fear of ghosts. Amory’s selfishness and inability to wait caused him to become banished from his home and to do things he should not have.

This was a very unique read. I loved how different this world is to other fantasy novels and how well the author describes objects and emotions. Normally I dislike long descriptions, but in this book enjoyed it because it made the world and characters more real and vivid. I like the different technology used such as flying stone slabs and ‘talking’ jars. Every single chapter left me wanting more, and I really want to know what happens next now.

The only thing I disliked about this book was the fact that it was short for a first book in a series, but then again the next few might be longer.

I recommend this to anyone who wants a different and unique fantasy world because this has definitely satisfied me fantasy standards. The Spirit Collectors is the first book in a series. Can’t wait ‘til the next one! And I might also pick up some of his other books.

love-stephanie

Leave a Reply

