Book Review

Salt & Stone by Victoria Scott

Title: Salt & Stone

Author: Victoria Scott

Pages: 407

Genre: Young Adult, Science-Fiction, Dystopia, Adventure

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“We’ve survived raging rivers, men with spears, dehydration, the Triggers, oceanic storms, jellyfish stings, Pandora Wars, hypothermia, avalanches. We’ve come out the other side alive and bitter.
We want the Cure.
And we want revenge.”

Goodreads summary:

In Fire & Flood, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and a terrifying march across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can’t stop—and in Salt & Stone, Tella will have to face the unseen dangers of the ocean, the breathless cold of a mountain, and the twisted new rules in the race.
But what if the danger is deeper than that? How do you know who to trust when everyone’s keeping secrets? What do you do when the person you’ve relied on most suddenly isn’t there for support? How do you weigh one life against another?
The race is coming to an end, and Tella is running out of time, resources, and strength. At the beginning of the race there were 122 Contenders. As Tella and her remaining friends start the fourth and final part of the race, just forty-one are left…and only one can win.

Review:

I could feel my heart break as I was reading this. There were so many deaths, even when new people were joining the crew. Tella grew to be stronger and independent by the end of the novel. I loved how she was close with her Pandoras and how they all loved her. My favourite part would have to be when one of the men was about to shoot her and all the Pandoras wanted to protect her. I didn’t like Harper as much as I need in the first novel because she was less commanding and determined, but then again she had lost her daughter so I understand why she changed the way she did. When Cotton was introduced into the book, I immediately didn’t trust him. At first I thought he was Titus and I was close with my assumption.

The Brimstone Bleed competition keeps getting more and more dangerous. Who in their right mind puts blood bags under a boat? I’m still heartbroken over the way Jaxon died. The ending was actually unexpected. I originally thought the book was going to end the way most do, with the main character winning, but in this book I was so wrong. The last person, okay maybe not last, I thought would have won, won the race.

Can we take a moment to appreciate how gorgeous the cover is? I need to go buy my own copy because I read this from the library.

This book has not satisfied my needs yet. I really hope there is going to be a third book for this because I still have so many unanswered questions. I am definitely going to pick up more of Victoria Scott’s books in the future.

love-stephanie

Leave a Reply

