Book Review

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Title: Snow Like Ashes

Author: Sara Raasch

Pages: 416

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“Don’t let fear take hold of you – fear is a seed that, once planted, never stops growing.”

Goodreads summary:

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

My review:

I’m going to be honest, at first I thought I wasn’t going to like this book because the synopsis just didn’t intrigue me and because it was a little hyped up and many people loved it, so I feared I wouldn’t love it. So imagine my surprise when I finished the book, and was left craving for more.

I loved the all characters a lot and found myself really attached to them. You could clearly see Meira’s character development as she journeys through many kingdoms and hardships to try and free her kingdom. Her ability to do what she wants (even when it is reckless) saves her and her friends several times. I’m not sure how I feel about Mather and Meira being together but I think they would make a cute brotp. And I absolutely adore Theron. His just perfect and sweet and loves literature. Don’t worry, I still love Mather. I think Sir/William’s harshness was what kept the team going. Because under the cold and commanding exterior, he was really a kind man who wanted to free Winter from Spring’s evil grasp. I love all the side and minor characters too as they added a bit more life, humour and hope to the story.

There were moments when I was able to predict what would happen and I was right. Such as when Sir/William died, I immediately thought he was alive when Meira was able to somehow heal the boy that was being whipped and I also had some suspicions that she was actually the heir of the Winter Kingdom because she was able to see the previous Queen in her dreams.

I loved how the different kingdoms were names of Seasons and Rhythms. I also adored how the love triangle was minor and didn’t interrupt the flow of the story and how Meira ends up not choosing either but the three characters stand together as one. But I’m scared that the next book might explore the love triangle more.

The cover of this book is really pretty. I specifically like how it has the two seasonal kingdoms that are at war with each other depicted in the centre.

I think a part of me enjoyed reading this because I was reading it for a read-a-long with two of my bookstagram best friends, Denise and Jennifer. And it was them who decided on the book so I’m glad I let them choose, otherwise I would have probably never picked this up.

I definitely can’t wait to read Ice Like Fire, which I’ll read as soon as I can. Then I’ll have to purchase my own copy as the one I read was from the library. And I can’t wait for the release of Frost Like Night. Sara Raasch is an amazing writer and I look forward to more of her work.

love-stephanie

One thought on “Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I felt exactly the same as you – it was a little predictable, but it was still a really fun read. I hope we can buddy read Ice Like Fire in the future! I loved reading this together, and I can’t wait to discuss it 😀

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

Leave a Reply

