Book Review

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Title: And Then There Were None

Author: Agatha Christie

Pages: 317

Genre: Mystery

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

“I don’t know. I don’t know at all. And that’s what’s frightening the life out of me. To have no idea…”

Goodreads review:

First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.

My review:

Also thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

I’m going to first start this review by saying that this is my first Agatha Christie book and also my first mystery novel. This book kept me on edge the whole time I was reading it and there were so many twists and turns.

There were so many characters that I couldn’t keep up with at the start. But eventually I enjoyed guessing which characters was the killer. I liked how the story centred on the poem, “Ten Little Soldiers” and found myself entertained (no I am not a cruel) as to how the deaths were somehow linked with the poem.

I don’t think character development was a strong element in this book because the book was written in ten points of views and each point of view was very short. The strange thing was that I suspected a lot of them were the killers (the two females and one of the guys) but I didn’t expect one person to be it and it turned out that they were the one that was killing all along. The ending was nicely wrapped up and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The planned ending, the letter, the discovery of ten dead bodies… everything was just well thought out.

Agatha Christie is queen at mysteries, even though I’ve only read one of her books.

The only thing I disliked about this book was that the many points of views confused me and I still don’t know who is who. But other than that, I loved the concept of the story. I definitely will read more of Agatha Christie’s books when I am in the mood for a mystery novel (I feel like I say this for every author).

love-stephanie

Leave a Reply

