Book Review

A Lost Legacy: Awakening by C. E. Diamond

Title: A Lost Legacy: Awakening

Author: C. E. Diamond

Pages: 256

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Format: E-book

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads summary:

Finn Adams thought she knew what her life had in store for her; a mundane existence of day to day life. The arrival of a stranger in town turns her world upside down. When her mother goes missing, Finn soon discovers that she is a witch and she is being hunted for her power. Ripped from the only life she’s ever known, Finn is transported across the country to Broadhaven, Maine to discover the secrets she never knew about herself, her heritage, and the tremendous power that’s been kept from her for so long. Her loyalties are tested when she learns of her true parentage and discovers she is part of a prophecy, destined to awaken an ancient power that has been lost for centuries. As she struggles to learn from her mother’s past, she is faced with the ultimate struggle of good and evil, family or friends, she must learn who she can trust and find the power within herself to stop the prophecy from coming true.

My review:

I received this e-book copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are 100% my own. Thank you to C. E Diamond for allowing me the opportunity to read this.

Also thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

This is my first witch read ever, besides from Harry Potter and I’m glad to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a quick and easy read and I found myself attached to some characters.

Finn grows to become independent and she learns to adapt really well, considering her situation. Finn and Eamon’s relationship in the beginning was amusing yet childish but it reminds me of the playful banters between my friends and me. Over time they gradually became closer and I could see more to Eamon then what he was willing to show. He’s definitely made it to my fictional boyfriends list. He’s protective and concerned about the wellbeing of his close friends, and in my mind, his perfect. I think that Neely is my favourite character because he’s able to just lighten the atmosphere, even when it’s tense and he comes across as a caring and laid-back person.

There are five families in this witchery world, the O’Neill’s, the O’Conner’s, the O’Brien’s, the Cavanagh’s and the McLoughlin’s. I liked how the families’ histories are intertwined with each other’s because they all grew up together. There’s still so much mystery surrounding the five families, and I’m starting to question Izzy’s death and Finn’s mother’s necklace etc. I found it hard distinguishing who was from what family but I still want to know more about the five families, and I’m especially curious about Finn’s parents and Eamon’s father. There’s just something about them that sparks a feeling of curiosity in me. I liked how we were able to see Finn’s dreams and how she slowly realised they were someone’s memories.

I think this novel was lacking in setting because I couldn’t visualise the places very well, except maybe the bridge of Boston. It was fast-paced and filled with actions and I loved learning about Finn’s past and family history. Overall, the novel was well written, easy to read and intriguing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a quick and easy read or something about witches.

I really want to know more about what happens and I hate how the ending left us wondering. I seriously need to read the rest of the series and get my unanswered questions answered. I’m glad this was my first witch read. I thought I would dislike any reads about witches because they never seem to interest me but how wrong I was! Thanks to C. E. Diamond, I’ll be reading more novels involving witches in the future.

love-stephanie

One thought on “A Lost Legacy: Awakening by C. E. Diamond

Leave a Reply

