Book Review

Saven: Deception by Siobhan Davis

 

Title: Saven: Deception

Author: Siobhan Davis

Pages: 792

Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Young Adult

Format: E-book

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

“Knowledge is power, and in the wrong hands, power can be destructive.”

Goodreads summary:

I’ve fallen hard for an alien, but he’s harboring secrets.
Massive secrets that threaten the very essence of humanity.
How can I give him my heart when his race plans on taking my future?

Sadie Owens has been slowly dying inside. Bit by bit, piece by piece, day by day. Trapped in a life she hates, she relies on only one person—herself.

Despised by her family and betrayed by an unscrupulous government, Sadie dreams of a different life. When she is chosen to participate in the government’s new social experiment, she is ecstatic at the prospect of spending six months in Thalassic City, the shiny new city under the sea.

Immediately drawn to Logan Chandler, Sadie is captivated by the beautiful boy with the ocean-blue eyes. Logan seems to embody everything that has been forbidden, but he isn’t all he appears to be.

Confused over Logan’s true intentions and concerned when best friend Jenna starts transforming in front of her eyes, Sadie partners with newcomer Jarod in a bid to uncover the government’s real agenda. The truth is more shocking than anything she could ever have imagined.

When Sadie finally understands why the Saven walk among us, will it be too late to save her heart and the human race?

My review:

I received this e-book from the author in exchange for an honest review as part of the We  book club and my review is 100% honest and my own opinion.

Also thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

Oh my gosh! I loved this book so much. It had many twists and turns and I fell in love with characters along the way. I love Sadie, the main character. She’s has a strong will and she doesn’t let anyone push her around. I loved following Sadie’s point of view because she was honest with herself and met some amazing characters. Logan was definitely swoon-worthy, but he was really confusing so I understood how Sadie felt around him. Hayden, Neve, Jarod, Fern and Jenna would probably be the best friends ever if they not fictional, they added humour to the storyline and were supportive of Sadie. The first thing I thought about Neve, was that her name meant snow in Italian and I kept picturing her with pale skin and light coloured hair. Hayden reminded me of a big brother figure, which suited his character and job well, but I cringed every time he called Logan “Crown Prince” because in my head and from what I read, they’re basically best friends. The last time we see Jenna, left me close to tears because I grew a certain fondness for her and how outgoing she was. Jenna reminded me of one of my friends, which made reading her situation even harder. Dante would be considered the antagonist in this novel, but I guess I like him too, well only towards the end of the book. I thought he was a complete jerk at the beginning but at the end, I think there was a flicker of compassion he had towards Jenna, which made me like him rather than hate him. I don’t know what I feel about Logan’s father because I think all the power is going into his head (like most monarchs) and I can’t wait for him to step down from being king.

I thought that the storyline was well-developed and the Thalassic City seemed really real to me. There were quite a few plot twists that I didn’t see coming, especially the one about Logan’s brother. But I was able to tell who was a Saven and who wasn’t because of the description of the novel and also from the way they acted. The prologue stated that a psychologist was going to help them fit in and I think that no matter how much you pretend, an alien race can’t really be human because they’ll make mistakes that humans won’t make.

The book started off really slow, probably because I wasn’t too interested in the prologue, but it picked up after a few chapters and I fell in love with everything. It made me start to think about what it would be like if we started living in a city underground. I need to know what happens next, and I’m wondering about where Jarod is and if he is okay.

Overall, Siobhan Davis is a talented writer, and I look forward to reading more from her and the sequel to Saven: Deception. I would’ve read this faster but because it was an e-book, I read it much slower than usual but nonetheless enjoyed it immensely. Saven: Deception increased my love for sci-fi even more now and I’m starting to enjoy the sci-fi genre now

.love-stephanie

2 thoughts on “Saven: Deception by Siobhan Davis

  1. I had no idea that this book had aliens in it!! I am now officially sold. I’ve seen this around the blogosphere but haven’t really looked into it until now. Your review sold me on it. 😀 I’m glad to know that it is picks up pretty quickly after the first couple of chapters. Hopefully the plot twists will surprise me as well! Great review Stephanie. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

