Book Review

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: My Life Next Door

Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick

Pages: 394

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“The Garretts were my bedtime story, long before I ever thought I’d be part of the story myself.”

Goodreads summary:

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

 

My review:

Also thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

I loved reading this book. It had so many adorable moments and I fell in love with Jase so quickly. Reading this made me realise how much I wish I got to know my neighbours and it reminded me of how much I love contemporaries, since I haven’t been reading much of that genre lately.

Samantha is kind, smart and rich but she lets others tell her what to do, especially her mother. Throughout the novel, you could see the development in Sam’s character because she learns to stand up to her mother. At times Sam was frustrating because she was moping around and wouldn’t tell Jase the truth. Jase is just perfect. He’s so fun to be around and is understanding. Jase has such a different point of view to the world then most males. I need a Jase in my life but it’s such a shame he is only a fictional character L At first I didn’t like Tim’s character, but now, after reading this, I really like him. He is a great friend even with his own problems. I’d love to have a best friend like Tim, minus all the smoking, alcohol and drugs. I don’t really know what to feel about Nan. I don’t like her much because she cheated on her essays and she dumped Sam as a friend because she couldn’t ‘keep up’ with her. But I admire Nan’s ability to work hard for what she wants. Let’s just say My Life Next Door just got me to add a new boy to my fictional boyfriend list.

I had trouble reading the heated scenes because it was poorly written and made me feel uncomfortable. I also would have liked to know what the gender and name of the baby Mrs Garrett was going to have and if Nan and Sam ever tried to smooth out their friendship.

But other than that, the book was overall well-written and I can already foresee myself reading more of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s books in the future, especially when I want to read a cute contemporary. I think there is a companion novel coming out for this soon. I’ll definitely check that out. Plus the cover to this is just adorable!

love-stephanie

4 thoughts on “My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. I read My Life Next Door at the end of last year and absolutely loved it! I really enjoyed the family dynamic, which I think is something that is pretty unusual in YA and definitely agree with you when it comes to Jase. He is just genuinely a really nice guy and I love him for it! I’ve been really liking contemporary books recently and I think that this book started it all for me. You can check out my review here if you’d like https://alwaysopinionatedgirl.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/874/

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any book by this author… But I know so many people love it. And reading awkwardly written heated scene is the worst! It’s like you want to escape but can’t, because what if we missed something important?? xD I’m still interested in reading this though 😀

    I also nominated you for The Infinity Dreams award, I hope you could check the post here 🙂 http://theliteraryhuntress.blogspot.co.id/2016/06/infinity-dreams-award.html

    Like

    1. You definitely have to pick this up soon. However, I didn’t enjoy one of her other books, but that’s just my opinion 🙂 thank you for the nomination, I’ll definitely do it ASAP

      Like

  3. I completely agree 110%! This was such a light and fun read, and I am so glad you liked it as much as I did. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

