Book Review

Creatura by Nely Cab

Title: Creatura

Author: Nely Cab

Pages: 327

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 5/5 stars

“The first consequence of love is pain—whether it is the fascinating jovial pain of love or the excruciating pain of a torn and tormented heart; it is pain, nonetheless.”

Goodreads summary:

“When seventeen year-old Isis Martin is having trouble sleeping due to perturbing dreams of a horrific growling beast, she decides to confront her fear. But what Isis discovers is something other than a menacing entity.

The human-like creature offers Isis assurance that he is not a figment of her imagination. Unwilling to accept his avowal, Isis sets his words to contest by asking the entity to prove himself—a dare, he readily welcomes.

It is in her dreams that Isis innocently stumbles upon the silent existence of the divine lineage of those that man has long forgotten.

In a quaint town, deep in south Texas, this story leads Isis onto the path of impermissible love and captivating life-changing truths. Isis Martin’s journey is sure to leave any reader ravenous for more.”

My review:

I’m going to start this review off by saying that this cover is beautiful. I love how dark and mysterious it is, just like the story and how pretty the font is.

I loved every little thing about this book. The characters were well developed and the story plot was great. David Chios has been added to my long list of fictional boyfriends because he is just swoon-worthy and lovable and deliciously handsome. I kept screaming at Isis in my head for rejecting him during the novel. David’s brothers were awesome. They were humorous and at times, really caring. Isis’ mother is pretty protective, but considering the fact that she is a single mother, I guess it’s only natural for her. I really loved Isis as character, but sometimes, I just think she doesn’t think things through. Gabriel (or was it Gabe?), was creepy for the most part, but I actually felt sorry for him at the end of the story because he was being possessed.

I liked the idea of how Isis was able to dream whatever she wanted, but I found it a little cliché that she was something she didn’t know she was (not human). The book had me hooked from the beginning and in a way, it was realistic and relatable.

I definitely will need to get my hands on the second book soon because I want to continue this series and have some questions answered. I think there’s a third book coming too! How exciting! Hope Nely Cab writes more in the future.

 

love-stephanie

One thought on “Creatura by Nely Cab

  1. I’m not sure if I’m ever going to pick it up, but I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! I haven’t seen it or heard of it before and it sounds pretty good. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

