Book Review

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Pages: 454

Genre: Young adult, Dystopia

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“You don’t forget the face of the person who was your last hope.”

Goodreads synopsis:

“Winning will make you famous.
Losing means certain death.

In a dark vision of the near future, twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live TV show called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.

When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

May the odds be ever in your favour.”

My review:

I decided to read The Hunger Games for the #ReadThemAllThon for the Earth Badge (a post-apocalyptic read).

Also thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

I’m going to admit that I didn’t really like this when I first read it years ago because it didn’t hold my interest. But I decided to give it another shot and I love it a lot! I don’t know why I ever put it down or stopped reading it. Maybe because it was so hyped that I didn’t want to read it but whatever the reason I’m glad I read it now. I feel victorious for reading many people’s favourite series/book that got them into reading.

the hunger games hunger games

The world building is great! Because I’ve read other dystopias before this, The Hunger Games reminds me of The Selection series because of the districts. I forgot what they’re called in The Selection. I love how Suzanne didn’t put too much detail about how the world came to be but just enough so we knew the basic events and how and why District 13 no longer existed. Her writing was nice and easy to follow and you could tell she knew her characters. I could easily visualise the world, especially since I haven’t watched the movies either. Yes, yes. I’m very behind aha.

I enjoyed Katniss’ character. She’s fierce, strong and resilient. Essential qualities for a fighter, a warrior. But she has a heart and cares for her younger sister a lot, something that is admirable. Katniss has become one of my favourite female characters because she doesn’t bend to the will of her superiors but rather she bends the rules (I’m mostly talking about the end of the Trials where she and Peeta win). Prim was a ball of joy, even though I only got to see her for a small amount of time. I could understand why everyone in the district loved her, she was sweet and kind, at least that was what I could decipher from the little information I got about her. Like Katniss, Rue did remind me of Prim, except she was faster and had more of the survival instincts. I almost cried at her death and I’m glad Katniss killed her killer (I do not condone murder aha).

I adored how sweet Peeta’s character was, doing this to protect Katniss. It matches his job too (baking cakes and cakes are sweet! Aha I’m so lame)! I squealed so much when he proclaimed his love for Katniss, even though it was also for show. But Gale is sweet too, putting his name in multiple times to get food for his family. I can’t decide whom I ship Katniss with because both boys are sweet and lovable!

Because I waited so long to read this, I kind of knew how the Trials and the book was going to end. But it did surprise me still, sometimes. Also, this book kind of reminds me of Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott (which I loved a lot!) I’m sorry for the many comparisons, it’s because of the books I read before this, please don’t judge. I’m glad I read this because now I’m remembering how much I use to enjoy dystopias; honestly don’t know why I stopped reading them.

Although I extremely enjoyed The Hunger Games, I don’t think I’ll continue this series because I like the ending and knowing how authors work, there’s going to be a lot more deaths in the series. But I might change my mind (or you guys might convince me aha).

 

love-stephanie

One thought on “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. This is one of my favorite books of all time, so I am so glad you read it and enjoyed it as much as I did (better late than never, right? xD) Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

