Book Review

Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Title: Thicker Than Water

Author: Brigid Kemmerer

Pages: 322

Genre: Young adult, Contemporary, (Semi) Mystery

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“Loneliness is a funny disease. You don’t realize how badly you’re infected until someone gives you a shot of contentment—and then it wears off”

Goodreads summary:

“Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect.

Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years.

The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder victim. And she’d like a couple answers.

Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…”

My review:

I really enjoyed Thicker Than Water more than I had anticipated. It had the perfect amount of mystery surrounding the entire plot. I feel like these characters were realistic, as if I was reading a biography, because Thomas grieved a lot, and Charlotte was diabetic. It’s almost rare to find books with characters with a disease. At least, that is what I feel like. Although the diabetic issue wasn’t prominent, it was refreshing to have little insight into it through Thomas’ and Charlotte’s eyes.

However, the supernatural ending made me lower the rating. I think it could’ve ended better, without any of the supernatural themes. It was a nice contemporary/mystery read but I feel that the sudden touch of supernatural lowered my rating. However, most of the characters were well-developed and I enjoyed watching, or rather reading, them grow. Charlotte’s brothers are all protective of her and I found that cute, because she has people who love her and who look out for her. I found it actually quite strange but amusing that the males in Charlotte’s family are somewhat related to the police department and Charlotte befriended someone that the police were suspicious of. But Charlotte is a sweet girl and I like how she isn’t quick to judge others.

I could feel my blood pumping when Charlotte was discovering/researching about the murder mystery about her friend and Thomas’ brother and how they were related to one another. Let’s just say, I didn’t sleep because it freaked me out (okay, I’m very sensitive and get easily freaked out and scared over the smallest of things so you can’t blame me.)

Thomas, I feel, didn’t have that much character development. He was overall a caring guy and you could tell her loved his mother. He was also naïve, but it wasn’t his fault since his mother hid him from his “powers”. I was weary about Thomas’ brother the moment I met him because he gave off this bad vibe about him. Now I know why that is.

The plot was well developed. The solving of the crime made the story more interesting and solving the mystery was fun; I enjoyed trying to decipher what really happened as well as Thomas, Charlotte and the police. I came up with a lot of theories but they obviously weren’t right because of the supernatural theme. The writing style was beautiful, and I’d like to read more of Brigid’s writing as I really enjoyed this story.

love-stephanie

Leave a Reply

