Bookish Discussions

Why Do I Read?

Brylie recently (not really now but anywho) posted a post on why people read by asking the opinions of her bookstagram followers, which inspired me to write down why I read. (Yes I participated in the blog post but this will be more in depth and I am going to tell you things I’ve never told anyone – okay now I don’t know if this is a good thing to post.)

As a child, I didn’t own many toys, mainly because my parents couldn’t afford it. So most of the time, my mum would take me to the local library and I would read/look through picture books. Sometimes my mum would read to me. But it was because of her that I love reading as of today.

My first present from a friend (when I was 6) was a book of fairy tales. From that moment on, I fell in love with the fantasy world – with princesses and princes, with wooden people and beasts and with fairies and witches. I guess the reason why I love retellings so much is because I grew up with fairy tales being mostly the centre of my childhood.

As I grew older, unlike everyone else, I read the Rainbow Magic books instead of Harry Potter. I believed fairies were real and had always wished I would get to see one. After a while, I read other things that weren’t related to fairies (Taken By Storm – it isn’t even the first book in the series. I was stupid back then) and it wasn’t until 2012/2013 (I can’t remember when) when a friend of mine introduced The Mortal Instruments to me. I fell in love with the series and founded fandom accounts and bookstagram through it. To this day, TMI still has a special place in my heart. From then on, I started to read more YA books but I rarely ever bought them, until I started bookstagram sometime last year (2015).

Image result for rainbow magicImage result for taken by storm jennifer lynn barnes

Image result for the mortal instruments books

 

For most of my school life (I’m still in high school), I was a shy girl who felt lonely because she felt left out sometimes. So I turned to books as an answer, and they became a constant companion – a friend to comfort me in my times of loneliness. I grew attached to the fictional worlds and befriended the characters in my head, which is probably why I’ll give a good rating to books if the characters are amazing. So whenever I head to school or anywhere really, I’d have a book in my bag just in case I need it.

So to sum this post up, I read because I love diving into a different world, allowing me to escape the harsh realities of our world. I love meeting new characters and falling in love with them. I enjoy the stories told by the characters and seeing characters achieve certain goals. I adore the way authors string words together to create not only beautiful sentences but powerful and meaningful stories. And I appreciate all authors for doing what they love.

 

love-stephanie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Why Do I Read?

Leave a Reply

