Book Review

Last Judgement by Michael Canon

Title: Last Judgement

Author: Michael Canon

Pages: 88

Genre: Sci-Fi

Format: ebook

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis:

“After losing his job at the Newsburge, Dylan Anderson hits rock bottom and is forced to forfeit his luxurious lifestyle in exchange for a more secluded life among campgrounds. Shortly afterwards, he also finds himself being kicked out of the reserve he is camping on by a park ranger. Feeling rejected and exhausted from life’s up and downs, he decides to swing by a local bar owned by his best friend where he accidentally bumps into the love of his life, Erica as well as his ex-co-workers. Before he is able to make sense of it all, he finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time. Dylan becomes unexpectedly swept away in an adventure so bizarre, it’s out of this world. Deeply moved by his sudden disappearance, his ex-co-workers become dedicated investigators to a phenomenon that spreads worldwide. Join the unique journey and unravel the mystery that is, Last Jugement.”

My review:

Firstly, I would like to thank Michael Canon for sending me the ebook of this for me in exchange for an honest review. I promise that all my thoughts in this review are 100% my own. Last Judgement is a sci-fi story and perfect for fans who love The 5th Wave.

When I first started this, I thought it wasn’t going to be my cup of tea. But then, the story progressed quickly and had me hooked until the end. I read this in one sitting because it is a very short and fast paced story.

This is a short story so I understand why there isn’t much character development. But I loved the characters nonetheless. I think my favourite would have to be Sam, he’s such a good and loyal friend. And Igor – he too is a good friend.

We follow Dylan as he tries to pick himself up after being kicked out of his tent on the campgrounds. He goes to do something for his friend and disappears. Everything happens so fast the moment Dylan disappears, which kept me reading. We discover clues to Dylan’s disappearance, meet new people, see some relationships fall apart and others become stronger and discover more about these aliens. And there is a lot of deception towards the end. AND THE CLIFFHANGER!! I need the next part ASAP because I must know what happens next. How could you leave us hanging like that?

The only negative thing I have to say about this is that I found it hard to understand Jim at times. I understand he is Irish, but it was difficult to decipher what he was trying to say. But other than that, I immensely enjoyed this story.

I’d definitely recommend “Last Judgement” if you are looking for a quick sci-fi read.

love-stephanie

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

