Bookish Discussions

Looking Back On 2016

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! HERE’S TO AN AWESOME YEAR FILLED WITH JOY, LAUGHTER AND OF COURSE, BOOKS! THANK YOU FOR STICKING AROUND AND FOLLOWING MY BLOG. I LOVE YOU ALL!

2016 has come and gone. And what a year it has been. I’ve read many new books, found new favourites and have made such wonderful new friends. 2016 was also the year where I restarted my bookstagram account, created/started using Twitter and started to blog more. It has honestly been a great year for me in terms of being part of the bookish community.

I’m thankful for the wonderful people that I have met, some of which I have met and are absolutely lovely. Special mentions to Denise and Jennifer who are still here for me, even though we’ve drifted a bit, and to all the new people I’ve met including: Anisha, Julia, Jess, Sarah, Dani, Bec, Nicole, Mollie, Sam (so basically the Bookish Melbournites), and to everyone else. Know that I’m so grateful for you, even if I haven’t mentioned you.

2016 was the year where I stepped out of my comfort zone and attended my first book events/launches. I got to meet Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman and they are lovely. I got to also meet some lovely bookish people at these events. It honestly was a fun experience and I cannot wait to see what is in store for me in 2017.

My goal for 2016 was to read 65 books, and I surpassed it by reading 77 books. Two of which were rereads. So I shall present to you my Top 10 favourite reads of 2016 (in no particular order because it was already hard to pick 10):

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah. J. Maas
  2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  3. The Grisha Trilogy (Shadow & Bone, Siege & Storm, Ruin & Rising) by Leigh Bardugo
  4. The Winner’s Trilogy (The Winner’s Curse, The Winner’s Crime, The Winner’s Kiss) by Marie Rutkoski
  5. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
  6. The Iron King by Julia Kagawa
  7. The Young Elites by Marie Lu
  8. Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  9. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
  10. Half Bad by Sally Green

Yes, I know I included trilogies but to me, they become one story so I cannot choose. There are so many other books I read and loved.

If you would like to see what I read in 2016, click here for a list.

Overall, 2016 has been fantastic. Sure there have been ups and downs and long periods of me being silent, but at least I can say I tried. Looking forward to seeing what 2017 has in store for all of us. Also, make sure to look out for my bookish resolutions post soon!

2 thoughts on “Looking Back On 2016

Leave a Reply

