Book Review

The Boundless Sublime by Lili Wilkinson

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Title: The Boundless Sublime

Author: Lili Wilkinson

Pages: 337

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 3/5 stars

“Fox’s hand was a life raft, the only thing stopping me from sinking further into empty blackness.”

Goodreads synopsis:

“Ruby Jane Galbraith is empty. Her family has been torn apart and it’s all her fault.

The only thing that makes sense to her is Fox – a gentle new friend who is wise, soulful and clever, yet oddly naive about the ways of the world. He understands what she’s going through and he offers her a chance to feel peace. Fox belongs to a group called the Institute of the Sublime – and Ruby can’t stay away from him. So she is also drawn in to what she too late discovers is a terrifying secretive community that is far from the ideal world she expected.

Can Ruby find the courage to escape? Is there any way she can save Fox too? And is there ever really an escape from the far-reaching influence of the Institute of the Sublime?”

My review:

I want to thank Aentee from Read At Midnight for giving me her copy. Grateful for you An!

Before I start, this review may contain a bit of spoilers. I’ll give you a heads up.

I’ve seen mixed reviews about this book, most of it being negative, but I enjoyed it. It was a quick read; however I found most of the plot slow and boring. The Boundless Sublime is a cult which are believe in allowing the body to be “pure” and the followers are easily brainwashed which you can see throughout the book.

At first, I didn’t mind Ruby. But I feel her relationship with Fox was unrealistic – well mostly in the beginning. She was grieving and disconnecting herself from life, which is understandable, when she happens to stumble upon Fox then falls in love with him within a few weeks (I think, don’t remember the time frame)? Then she runs away to join Fox’s cult, has doubts about the cult but allows herself to be brainwashed anyways. The more I think about it, the more I grow to dislike Ruby even more.

BUT I LOVED FOX SO MUCH! Okay, confession time. I mainly finished the story just to see more of Fox. He’s just adorable and sweet and sympathetic and a ball of sunshine.

I found it so weird how everyone called the leader “Daddy”, like even the adults did. And I know he was nice and all to Ruby but he was also creepy. He brainwashed the poor children and didn’t let them have names or know their mothers and it was very sad.  If I keep ranting about him, I’m going to end up spilling spoilers left and right so I’ll shut up.

STOP READING NOW. KIND OF SPOILS IT MAYBE.

 

I liked the ending, how it ended with the script of a video Ruby records for the Sublimites. But I’m very confused with the vitamins and elements and stuff. Like the leader (if you can’t tell, I don’t remember how to spell his name) limited some vitamins and gave the others and apparently they can brainwash you? Maybe it’s just me, but I hate when people worship the opinions of others and depend on them to live. I understand the cult eating natural organic food, but adding so much salt to it isn’t very appealing, ideal or delicious. What were they thinking?

PARAGRAPH OVER.

 

Anyways, that’s a mini review for you because I literally cannot come up with anything else to talk about this book.

love-stephanie

2 thoughts on “The Boundless Sublime by Lili Wilkinson

Leave a Reply

