Book Review

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Title: The Young Elites

Author: Marie Lu

Pages: 357

Genre: Young Adult Dystopia/Fantasy

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Be true to yourself. But that’s something everyone says and no one means. No one wants you to be yourself. They want you to be the version of yourself that they like.

Goodreads synopsis:

“I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all. 

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen. 

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her. 

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

My review:

This book was AMAZING! I adored every moment with it. Adelina was so dark and twisted but I loved it. A lot of the time I was on the edge of my seat, anticipating what would happen next.

I really loved getting to know the characters, they were all so unique and they made a good team – The Dagger Society I mean. At the start of this year, I wasn’t too fond of more than one point perspective but since then I’ve been open to it and have been enjoying it. And I’m glad I read The Young Elites now rather than at the start of the year otherwise I might not have enjoyed it as much as I did.

I know this is probably uncommon but I shipped Raffaele and Enzo together. They were cute together and it’s sweet how they founded the society. But then again, I also ship Adelina with Enzo, although that may not turn out well because I feel their personalities and ambitions might clash. I think Raffaele would be my favourite character though, he was so sweet and kind and poor him. I can barely remember the other members of the society but I know they were good to one another and I hope to see more of them in the next two books.

Teren and the Queen were just as dark as Adelina, except the Queen was more cruel. The plot twist though, like how could you?! (You’ll have to read this to find out who I’m talking about.) I also loved how close the relationship between Adelina and her sister is, Adelina’s good side, I feel, is due to her sister. Without her, I think Adelina would just know complete darkness.

I liked the concept of malfettos gaining powers, there was a reason for these powers, even if it’s not clear. I feel sad for them though because they get condemned by their families and by society.

There were some parts I found boring. I’m not sure why but at scenes like when things are being explained or something, I just lost interest. But it wasn’t for too long which I’m glad for.

The ending had my heart torn out. I did not see it coming and I really hope the next book isn’t as sad, although I’ve been warned to have tissues prepared haha. I’ll warn you now, the ending to this is not a happy one so be prepared.

Other than that, I’m glad I picked this book up. I didn’t enjoy Marie’s other books so this one gave me a surprise. I’m hoping to finish the trilogy soon because it’s very good. Go read it if you’re into characters with dark tendencies.

love-stephanie

 

11 thoughts on “The Young Elites by Marie Lu

  1. Great review 🙂 I really enjoyed this book as well; it’s so different! I like how instead of the main character being a “hero” like most in the genre, this book’s focus is on the “anti-hero” or how someone good can be pushed and pushed until they change for the worse. Really unique read! Glad you enjoyed it and I hope you like the rest of the series! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

