Bookish Discussions

Top 5 Genres To Read

Today I will be discussing my favourite genres, as the title suggests. I thought that it’d be nice to tell you about me a little and to somewhat explain why I read certain genres. There are many genres under the fiction umbrella, and I have yet to read books from all of them, but here are my top 5 favourite genres in no particular order:

  • Fairy tale retellings/Mythology based stories – I am obsessed with fairy tales and Greek Mythology so I guess this is self-explanatory. My favourite fairy tale is Beauty and The Beast. I love seeing authors take an existing world and turning into theirs by adding twists and turns or a completely different setting. Lately I haven’t read much of these though so I probably should research for some and read them. Some of my favourite books from this genre are: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (I haven’t read Winter yet, oops), the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Maas (the ones that I currently out), Unhinged by Tempest C. Avery and Creatura by Nely Cab.

Beauty and the Beast gif.gif

 

  • Historical Fiction – I am a history nerd, I’m sure some of my friends can vouch for that. I enjoy learning about past events that shape our world/society today. Therefore, reading stories set back in time are always interesting because it enables the author to explore many “What if…” questions. I love reading stories about WWII the most though; my love for this started when I was 11-12 years old when I first read Once by Morris Gleitzman and the rest of his series. I enjoyed Prisoner of Night and Fog (which reminds me, I still need to get the next book), The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas (I refuse to watch the movie in fear that I will become a sobbing mess) and The Infernal Devices (technically it’s set in the Victorian era so it counts, okay?)

 

  • Contemporary – I absolutely adore contemporaries! They’re easy to dive into and are usually quick and fluffy reads. I usually read this genre during exams or when I’m in a slump because they’re not full on or stressful. I’m only going to mention a few contemporaries I love because there are many that I adore (I could make a list). Stephanie Perkin’s books are the cutest (I have yet to read Isla, shame on me I know), Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (which I feel is relatable), Yellow by Megan Jacobson, Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover (technically this is New Adult but it still fits in the contemporary genre right?), Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli and Laurinda by Alice Pung.

 

  • Fantasy (Not high fantasy though, mostly books that are YA) – I love reading fantasy but I don’t think I’ve ready many high fantasy. I reach for the fantasy genre because it allows me to expand and use my imagination and it is a helpful genre to escape reality. I rarely read many fantasy books even though it is one of my favourite genres because it is hard to wrap my head around the different world and get use to the strange names and setting. I’m currently reading Nevernight by Jay Kristoff, which is a fantasy novel and it is so so good! I love it heaps. I also loved the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

 

  • Dystopia – I haven’t read many dystopian lately but I enjoy reading from this genre because, like the Historical Fiction genre, it explores many “What if…” questions about the future. I can’t really think of any good dystopia reads at the moment but I recently read Ora’s Gold (Click here for the review) by Charlotte Young and I LOVED it! I also like Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (Haven’t read the rest of the series), The Lunar Chronicles (Yes this showed up twice), Shatter Me series (it doesn’t really focus on the setting though but it’s considered dystopian and I absolutely ADORE it.

 

Anyways, those were my top 5 genres to read from. If you can’t tell, I mostly read contemporaries. Some genres overlap too, so I guess it’s hard to say what is what. Do you have any recommendations for the above genres? And what are your favourite genres?

love-stephanie

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Genres To Read

    1. Haha I love history but I hate studying it. And I haven’t read a lot of historical fiction but I love whatever one’s I’ve read. Hoping to read of that genre more this year. And I think the trick is to find a piece of history you’re interested in. Like if you gave me a historical fiction about Australia’s colonisation or something, I would cast it aside because that doesn’t interest me

      Like

    1. Stephanie Perkins’ books!! But contemporary is a huge genre and there’s so many books so I have no idea what to recommend. I’ve heard Jennifer Niven, Nicola Yoon, Adam Silvera, Rainbow Rowell and Jodi Picoult are good! I read more fantasy so I have few recs, sorry!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my god, our reading tastes are so similar haha! Great post, I loved reading it! In regards to Prisoner of Night and Fog, I adored the first book, but although the second book wrapped up nicely and was nicely satisfying, I was slightly frustrated for ‘reasons’…Haha, hope you read it soon, and see if you agree with me 😀

    I also had a massive fear of high-fantasy, and literally ran in the opposite direction whenever someone suggested it, but if you’re ever feeling up for it, I would suggest the ‘Mistborn’ series by Brandon Sanderson. His writing is impeccable, and although there is a lot going on, with lots of characters, and world building….it all kind of comes together eventually, and I promise you will enjoy it! I read all 3 main books last year and they were my favorites! It’s that good!

    Again, great post! Good job.
    -Sam. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I would love to try Mistborn but it’s size is extremely intimidating haha. And I’m not sure when I’ll read the sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, but I’ll make sure to tell you what I think 🙂 thank you for reading this post ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

