Book Review

The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

Title: The Winner’s Trilogy

Author: Marie Rutkoski

Pages:

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 5/5 stars

“Isn’t that what stories do, make real things fake, and fake things real?”

Goodreads synopsis:

“As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. 

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.”


Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

My review:

I ABSOLUTELY ADORED THIS SERIES. IT BROKE MY HEART SO MANY TIMES. Anisha from Sprinkled Pages recommended that I read it and I’m so glad I picked it up because it’s so so good.

I loved the characters a lot. I’ve grown attached to some of them – Kestrel, Arin, Jess, the General, Ronan, Enai, Roshar and so many others. These characters were so beautifully woven, especially MY PRECIOUS SWEET ARIN. I had trouble remembering how to spell Kestrel’s name but now it’s engraved into my brain. I found Kestrel’s manipulations skills very interesting. As a General’s daughter, you’d expect her to know how to fight very well, however, she is more of the strategic type of person, using her mind to get what she wants and to win. Kestrel is proof that girls don’t have to be badass or a warrior to win in life – we have brain power. Her love for music is so touching – also rebellious too haha. Enai is so sweet and she makes a good mother-like role model. I love Kestrel’s and her close relationship.

In a lot of YA, female friends normally become jealous and bitchy (excuse my language, sorry), however Jess is not like that all! She’s supportive of Kestrel and looks out for her. But as the series progresses, we see less of her which saddens me. Poor Ronan though, he loves Kestrel and does his best to protect her – but something happens at the end of the first book. *cue uncontrollable sobbing*

I was actually fond of Kestrel’s father, he’s not bad of a father – he just wants his daughter to follow in his footsteps. And at least he isn’t like those fathers who turn against their daughters because their wife died and left them behind. But yeah the ending of the second book, The Winner’s Crime, changed my views on this.

MY SWEET ARIN! SOMEONE LET ME WRAP HIM UP IN BLANKETS AND CUDDLE WITH HIM AND LET HIM SING FOR ME. Yes my obsession for him extends that far. My heart broke for him on multiple accounts. If you have read it, you’ll understand that Arin is a sweet muffin, hehe.

I think the last book would have to be my favourite. There were many scenes that made me laugh, especially when Roshar and Kestrel’s friendship was blooming. OH AND TIGER ARIN WAS THE BEST! And the ending of the series was perfect. There were times when I was at the edge of my seat, wondering if our beloved characters would die or not, because let’s face it. In war, nothing is certain. I SHALL SAY NO MORE IN CASE I SPOIL SOMETHING> But please go read

To sum this up, the ending of the first two books made me very sad. But the last book does it justice and I loved it so much. Just go read it. Please. The setting is so similar to our world right now – wars upon wars. Okay so our world isn’t that bad but still. I feel like that’s what it’s like.

Anyways, I really enjoyed The Winner’s trilogy. Marie Rutkoski has become a favourite author because her writing is just beautiful and lyrical. I’m serious though, these book has given me so many more favourite quotes and characters to love.

love-stephanie

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

  1. I enjoyed this trilogy too, but my favourite is probably book 1! Book 3 made me disconnect a bit, the memory trope kind of… changed its feel, for me. But yes I definitely share your love for Arin, hehe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

