Book Review

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: The Dream Thieves

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Pages: 437

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Format: Hardback

My Rating: 5/5 stars

“He was brother to a liar and brother to an angel, son of a dream and son of a dreamer.”

Goodreads synopsis:

“If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.”

My review:

Thank you to Anisha for allowing me to use her photo for my feature image <3.

If you haven’t read The Raven Boys or my review for it, I suggest you go read it or read my review here because there may be spoilers for The Raven Boys.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!! Mostly because it centres around my favourite, which is Ronan. But everything about it was AMAZING! The writing, the characters and the story. I fell even more in love with Blue and her Raven Boys. The prologue was enchanting! I don’t think I’ve read a prologue that has captivated me as well as this one did.

The Dream Thieves is set approximately 6 months from The Raven Boys and it flows so nicely together. It centres on solving the mystery of the last sentence in The Raven Boys which was about Ronan telling the group about him taking Chainsaw out of his dreams.

I don’t know if I talked about this before, but the friendship between Gansey and Ronan is just indescribable. They are literally friendship goals. I feel that Adam was getting more distant and I’m unsure about what to feel about him. But I still love him nonetheless. Ronan’s relationship with Matthew is so cute! Like Ronan would do anything for him, even going to church with the brother he hates most.

We were also introduced to more characters and I’m going only say only this, I DID NOT TRUST KAVINSKY FROM THE START! Blue was right in her judgment about him. Also the Gray Man was very mysterious and I had initially thought he was Maura’s lover/Blue’s father. I was laughing out loud a couple times, thanks to Maura’s actions towards him.

We got to know the characters a little more as we learn (this is probably just me) that Ronan never lies (a quality I admire) and is actually very kind to the people he cares about. We learn the extent of Adam’s powers gifted upon him and we see Persephone in a different light. I actually love Persephone a lot! She’s probably my favourite psychic that resides in 300 Fox Way (but I love them all, let’s just say I almost love everyone in this book).

Many secrets about Ronan and his past/family were revealed in this book and it was definitely shocking to read most of them. My favourite part would have to be when Ronan tells Gansey he trashed Gansey’s car. It was a raw and honest moment, which showed who Ronan really was. I’m actually annoyed most with Greenmantle and hopefully we don’t have to see him anymore (highly unlikely).

Anyways, overall I LOVED this book! I have high hopes that this will become one of my favourite series and that Maggie Stiefvater may become an auto-buy author. Still need to purchase her book though. It’s safe to say that I am obsessed with Ronan Lynch and I wish he were real.

P.S. I would say I’m excited to read Blue Lily, Lily Blue except I already read it and my review shall be posted soon.

love-stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

