Book Review

Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat [Mini Review]

Title: Captive Prince

Author: C. S. Pacat

Pages: 284

Genre: Adult Fantasy

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 3/5 stars

“’He’s the captive Kastor sent you to train?’ said Torveld, curiously. ‘He’s–safe?’

‘He looks combative, but he’s really very docile and adoring,’ said Laurent, ‘like a puppy.’

‘A puppy,’ said Torveld.

To demonstrate, Laurent picked up a confection of crushed nuts and honey and held it out to Damen as he had at the ring, between thumb and forefinger.

‘Sweetmeat?’ said Laurent.

In the stretched-out moment that followed, Damen thought explicitly about killing him.”

Goodreads synopsis:

“Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos, but when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave. 

Beautiful, manipulative and deadly, his new master Prince Laurent epitomises the worst of the decadent court at Vere. But in the lethal web of Veretian politics, nothing is as it seems, and when Damen is caught up in a dangerous play for the throne, he must form an alliance with Laurent to survive and save his country. 

For Damen, there is just one rule: he must never reveal his true identity. Because the one man Damen needs is the one man who has more reason to hate him than anyone else…”

My review:

I really liked this book, however I was also disappointed about it. I’ve seen many people love it, and I had also hoped to love it but I didn’t. I just wasn’t satisfied and I felt something was missing, although I can’t pinpoint what.

I feel as if there was no plot, as in nothing was really happening for a good portion of this book. Most of the book was getting to know Vere and the life of the court, since we don’t see outside of Vere as much. I felt bored for half of the book. But by the second half, the story picked up, and things started to happen.

There was also a lot of rapey parts which is something that I do not condone, and I feel it was this that made me feel uncomfortable whilst reading.

The quote above is one of the scenes that I loved. It was adorable and amusing, maybe not to Damen though. I loved Damen’s and Laurent’s characters. There were times when I thought Laurent knew about Damen’s real identity. I was actually hoping Damen’s identity would be revealed during Captive Prince because I’d like to see how the people of Vere would react. Everyone seems to ship them, which I can see happening but not as of now.

The ending is what really stopped me from giving this book a lower rating. It was tense and shocking. The last few chapters had me yearning for more. And it also made me ship Damen and Laurent. It’s a small spark though.

I will definitely be reading the next book in hope for more development as it looks more promising. Also yay to Aussie authors. I actually didn’t the author was Australian until I read her small biography thing (and she was born in the same city as me).

love-stephanie

 

 

7 thoughts on “Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat [Mini Review]

  1. I feel you either love this book or hate this book and I was someone (which you know!) that loved this book! This was mostly because of the characters and how intricate and layered they were and as you get into the next two books, you get to peel back those layers and learn so much more about them. However, I do agree that Pacat should have had a thing in her books where she had one of her characters say that the rape wasn’t okay, which her books were missing which was quite disappointing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked the next two books better than Captive Prince because there was less rape and it was overall interesting. And yes, it would have been better is Pacat had a character say rape was not okay because it isn’t

      Like

  2. Uh I’ve heard of these books, and I’ve meant to read them, but I won’t lie that I hesitate every time due to the rape culture…if you will. I’m still interested in the overall story though, and maybe one day I will have stomach enough to get through it haha.
    Great review!
    -Sam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I went into these books not realising about the rape culture, so if it is something that is sensitive to you, you shouldn’t read this trilogy. Just know that the rape culture does get less predominantly shown through the series.
      Thank you for reading my review ❤

      Like

  3. This book definitely made me uncomfortable in parts, too. And I agree with you on the plot thing, I didn’t entirely know where it was going for the first chunk either. I ended up giving it 3 stars, I liked it but was confronted by it, but would also read more? Very odd of me hahaha! And I didn’t ship Laurent/Damen, but I feel like that would occur in the later books for me (when I eventually read them)!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At first, I didn’t see how they would work in a relationship together but at the end of the series, THEY WERE ADORABLE!! And I totally understand about how you wanted to read more because I did as well, just to see if it improved

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

