Book Review

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Title: Six Of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Pages: 462

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5/5 stars

No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for good luck.

Goodreads synopsis:

“Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone… 

A convict with a thirst for revenge

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager

A runaway with a privileged past

A spy known as the Wraith

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.”

My review:

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK AND CAN SEE WHY EVERYONE SEEMS TO LOVE IT TOO. I love Leigh’s writing and her Grisha trilogy so I was hoping to love Six of Crows even more. And I was not disappointed. I loved the characters and the development of their relationships and the impossible heist Kaz and his crew were given.

Six of Crows is one of those books which can make you laugh. I definitely laughed a lot with the things Kaz says, well a lot of them actually. But it is also one of those books which leave you hanging in suspense, unsure if any of the characters, especially your favourites, will die or survive.

One thing I adored about this book is the characters, how beautifully crafted they were and the relationships they had with one another. I definitely ship Kaz and Inej, Nina and Matthas and Jesper and Wylan, even though most of them aren’t official. Them being together is enough, don’t argue with me. However the friendships in the book are even better and my favourite would have to be Inej’s friendship with Nina and Jesper. Reading about their interactions always makes me smile. I look forward to seeing more of them in Crooked Kingdom. The banters between some characters were also cute, I want a crew like this one.

This crew of 6 were an unusual bunch for this seemingly impossible heist, however they kept proving me wrong every time. You have no idea how many times my heart raced because I thought they were going to die at some point[s]. Kaz has a brilliant mind and is so good and manipulating people and coming up with tricks. I can not count the number of times I laughed at his witty comments. I think I may be obsessed with him. Inej is incredible at keeping secrets, being silent and is extremely agile and has a strong endurance. If you’ve read this, you’ll know what I’m talking about. I really admire Inej because she is such a strong character. Nina’s and Matthias’ relationship is complicated and I found it amusing how they were at each other’s throats. BE WARNED! THERE IS A SCENE THAT INVOLVES MATTHIAS THAT MADE MY HEART STOP! I shall not reveal if it is a good thing or not. Jesper is handy with guns and I love this guy. He’s always teasing Wylan and it’s just adorable. Wylan is also smarter and braver than meets the eye. YOU ALL NEED TO READ THIS AND FALL IN LOVE WITH THESE CHARACTERS ASAP.

Six of Crows is set after two years after Ruin and Rising and in another place called Ketterdam. Although they travel across the sea whilst on their heist. There is also some diversity as Kaz has chronic pain in his legs and has to use a cane to get around. There are also nods towards a character being gay. And the Grishaverse is also inspired by the Russian Empire.

The ending of this surprised me. I honestly was not expecting it and it now has me wanting to read the next book soon. I think the only bad thing I can say about this is that the first chapter really didn’t capture my attention. I found it a little dull. But as I dove in further, I understood why the first chapter was needed. So guys, please keep reading after the first chapter if you didn’t like it

Overall, I enjoyed Six of Crows and Leigh Bardugo has climbed up to being one of my favourite authors ever. Stay tuned for a review of her other books because they are amazing and deserve to be known to the world.

love-stephanie

 

 

10 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Ahhh, whenever I see someone reviewing Six of Crows I get super duper excited and giddy!!!! 😀 I still have a few books to read and review this week but I am hoping and praying that I will FINALLY get around to reading it next week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

