Bookish Discussions

All Time Favourite Book Discussion

Hey guys! It’s been a while since I last had a discussion like post on this blog. Today I want to discuss all time favourite books in relation to me. And I feel like some of you may be able to relate to this. So here goes.

I’ve seen a lot of people talk about their all time favourite book, or a book that will forever be special to them. I am sad to say that no book has reached to that point for me. Sure I’ve had books that I immensely enjoyed and books that will always have a special spot in my heart, like The Mortal Instruments, but I don’t think there is a book I’ve read yet that I can claim as my favourite.

There are a few reasons for this actually. And I might be overthinking this, but to me, an all time favourite book has to be something that speaks to me and pulls at my heart strings – good or bad. So here are the reasons for me not having an all time favourite book as of yet.

  1. I want to read a book that I can relate to, whether personally, mentally or culturally. I haven’t read many books with a Vietnamese protagonist so I feel like I cannot relate completely to a book
  2. I want to read a book that captures my attention from the beginning to the end. For many books I read, I don’t hooked immediately or I lose interest quickly. Sometimes this doesn’t happen but even then I can’t bring myself to say it’s my all time favourite.
  3. I want to read a book that provides a special message or an important lessonΒ to take away. I’ve just felt that a book should be more than entertainment. it should also teach an underlying message.
  4. I want to read a book which I can reread over and over and know that I will never get bored of. Sometimes a book can get boring if read too many times so I want to find one that I will never get bored of.
  5. I haven’t read many books so choosing a book that is an all time favourite would be unfair as of now. I’m hoping to find an all time favourite when I read 300-500 books (according to Goodreads, I’ve only read 200) so that this gives me a variety of books to find a favourite from
  6. Some books are overhyped and it makes me think I really really liked it but after a while, I realise that it’s not too special (example is Throne of Glass, #sorrynotsorry)
  7. I am a naturally indecisive person. I feel like my favourite book depends on my mood at the time and what books I remember at the time I am asked. So choosing favourite books are the worst questions for me.
  8. I still have so much time in the world to find a book that is meaningful and special to me. I don’t feel like it’s necessary to have an all time favourite book as of now. I have more important things to do, like reading books and writing blog posts and school [insert crying face here]

In saying this, I still have books that I consider favourites. These are books that I usually rate 4-5 stars and I absolutely adored, despite some minor problems which I acknowledge. You can find a list of my favourite books here.

Do you have an all time favourite book or series? If so, what is it? What do you think of my reasons? Am I overthinking/overanalysing it?

love-stephanie

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “All Time Favourite Book Discussion

    1. hmm at the moment, I would say The Shadowhunter Chronicles (excluding Lady Midnight because haven’t read it) but I feel like I rarely completely finish a series so it’s hard to say aha

      Like

  1. I think most people have difficulty choosing an all-time favourite book! xD I actually do have one, Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee, and one of the things I loved was the Chinatown setting and the Chinese cultural elements (along with the amazing heroine, writing and storyline) – so I definitely understand your first point here. I’m reading The Other Shore by Hoa Pham at the moment and it’s an amazing, suspenseful book which weaves in Vietnamese cultural elements with supernatural ones, you should definitely give it a try! Also recommend Listen, Slowly by ThanhhΓ  Lai and Cloudwish by Fiona Wood, both great books with Vietnamese protags πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

