TBR LIST

Diversity Bingo 2017

In my resolutions post, I mentioned that I wanted to read more diversely, to make myself more aware of it. And I have been doing so, until last month which I read mostly review books. Anyways, a way to help me with this goal is to participate in the Diversity Bingo 2017 (which I have been doing but haven’t done a proper post because I forgot too) which is hosted by 9 lovely bookworms. You can see who they are on the bingo card.

Diversity Bingo 2017.jpg

The idea of this challenge is to read a book that fits the square, one book per square until you get a bingo or use all the squares. I’m hoping to fill all the squares up by the end of the year.

I don’t have a definite TBR for this challenge. I have ideas as to what I want to read for each square but it depends what I can get my hands on first. But I shall tell you what I am planning to read anyways.

  1. Romance with a trans MC: Peter Darling by Austin Chant
  2. Non-binary MC (own voices): Ida by Allison Evans
  3. Science Fiction & Fantasy with disabled MC: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  4. Practising Jewish MC: Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran – I’m not sure if the MC practises Jewish traditions, if not, I’ll find another one.
  5. Indian MC (own voices): Interpreters of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
  6. Displaced MC: A Long Walk To Water by Linda Sue Park
  7. MC with under represented body: The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 
  8. Neuro-diverse MC (own voices): On The Edge Of Gone by Corinne Duyvis – The MC is autistic, however I don’t know if it accurate representation. If not, let me know and give me some suggestions for other books in this category.
  9. Retelling with MC belonging to LGBTQIA+: As I Descended by Robin Talley 
  10. Bisexual MC (own voices): Not Your Sidekick by C. B. Lee
  11. MC with invisible disability: Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall
  12. MC with anaphylactic allergy: I actually haven’t found any for this that I’m interested in. Leave suggestions below if you have any, please!
  13. MC of colour in science fiction & fantasy: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
  14. Latinx MC (own voices): Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova
  15. Free choice: I’m just going to add whatever one I feel like adding at the end of the year. This gives me freedom to read whatever I want.
  16. Non-western setting (real world): The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  17. Own voices: History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
  18. MC with chronic pain: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 
  19. West Asian setting: The Wrath And The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  20. Arab MC (own voices): Where The Streets Had A Name by Randa Abdel-Fattah
  21. MC with wheelchair: The Last Leaves Falling by Fox Benwell
  22. Book by author of colour: The Blazing Star by Imani Josey
  23. Biracial MC (own voices): P.S. I Still Love You By Jenny Han
  24. Pansexual MC (own voices): Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate
  25. Black MC (own voices): The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  26. MC on ace spectrum (own voices): Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire
  27. LGBTQIA+ MC of colour: Not sure what I will be reading for this yet.
  28. Visually impaired MC: Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom
  29. Book set in Central America: Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe 
  30. Contemporary world arranged marriage: Written In The Stars by Aisha Saeed
  31. Indigenous MC (own voices): The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina 
  32. Diverse non-fiction: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur
  33. People of colour on cover: Saga: Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan
  34. Deaf/hard of hearing MC: A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Barnard
  35. Immigrant or refugee MC: When Michael Met Mina by Randa Abdel-Fattah
  36. Hijabi MC (own voices): Does My Head Look Big In This by Randa Abdel-Fattah 

I will be posting an update on how I’m doing with this challenge in June and maybe in October. Unless you guys want one earlier.

Are you participating in this challenge? Are you planning to read a bingo line or strive for the whole bingo card?

love-stephanie

 

14 thoughts on “Diversity Bingo 2017

  1. AHA STEPH you’re so good for having your TBR all planned out! I’ve completely forgotten about this and have just been reading my own things (even though they have been diverse) without referring back to this chart! Also thanks for the recs *proceeds to steal all your ideas* hehehe ;P

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

