Book Review

A Court of Mist And Fury by Sarah. J. Maas

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 624

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“To the stars that listen – and the dreams that are answered.”

Goodreads summary:

“Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.”

My Review:

NOTE: I wrote this review in 2015 and cannot remember much so I decided to leave it as it is. Also, this review may contain mild spoilers, so read at your one risk.

I’ve been anticipating this book since I last read ACOTAR and it did not disappoint. I loved reliving the world Feyre had gotten to know. And although I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I also had some very minor issues but that didn’t affect my reading experience.

I loved the characters and my sense of love for Rhysand grew even more (even though some people may think his actions and intentions were not pure and were slightly abusive). I felt that seeing Feyre’s vulnerability helped to deepen my connection with her and I could also see her grow into a stronger person. At the beginning and for most of the middle of the novel, I found it annoying because she couldn’t choose between loving Tamlin or hating him. And when she finally realised her feelings for him, I literally squealed in delight (I dislike Tamlin so you can imagine my happiness when Rhysand came to the rescue). I also loved her powers, although they were out of control most of the time. It was nice of Rhysand to help her, even though it meant that Feyre could possibly surpass Rhysand in the future.

In ACOTAR I loved Lucien, even during the first few chapters of ACOMAF, however I grew to dislike him a bit. I still want him to be the person I grew to love – the one who made jokes and was serious but cared for his friends. I feel that since the Under the Mountain incident, Tamlin grew cold causing Lucien to grow distant and possibly fearing Tamlin since he never fought back any of Tamlin’s commands. I also grew to despise Tamlin more and was literally screaming at Feyre to leave him. Especially during the wedding scene.

The Inner Circle in the Night Court has made it to one of my all-time favourite friendships. The relationship between Rhysand, Mor, Amren, Azriel and Cassian was touching and special. In the inner circle, I think my favourite character would have to be Mor because she is friendly and semi-optimistic even after her horrible past. I ship Mor and Azriel together because they’re just adorable together, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t like Cassian because I really do. I found it cute how Rhysand taught her to read an write, although you could see that he was quite arrogant and full of himself.

I don’t know if this is just me, but I feel like the villain, King of Hybern, was a little soft-ish (not that soft because he seems really scary and intimidating) because he actually kept his deals and dealt with the mortal queens etc. Like most villains wouldn’t keep their end of the bargain. But since his appearance was brief, I won’t have a proper judgment of him until the next book. Although, if Rhysand is right, he might be even crueller than Amarantha.

I love how the Night Court is split into two parts, the Court of Nightmares (Hewn City) & the Court of Dreams (Velaris). Sarah J. Maas’ description of Velaris makes me want to visit Velaris for myself. Actually, I want to visit all the courts now, aha. I wish they were real or there was someplace similar to it.

The ending actually caught me by surprise however I knew that a certain someone was on the wrong side the moment Rhysand opened his mouth at the beginning (I’m talking about Tamlin for anyone who is curious). And the twist with what happened with Feyre’s sisters also caught me by surprise. I’ll admit that the first few chapter actually bored me and I was uninterested in the sexual tension/scenes, which brought the rating down but overall I loved the plotline of ACOMAF.

One of my favourite scenes would have to be when Feyre and Rhysand are standing together and watching the stars (I forgot what it was called but it’s where the stars (I think) where moving across the sky). It was one of the sweetest moments that Rhysand and Feyre shared and I love looking at stars so I guess it’s also a personal thing.

Overall, I loved this book and cannot wait for the third and last instalment to be released. I read this with Jennifer and Denise, two of my best friends from bookstagram, and we had a good discussion. My reading experience enhanced whilst I was reading this with my friends because I was able to think deeper and they, especially Denise, helped me to see different perspectives.

love-stephanie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

