Book Review

Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples [mini review]

Title: Saga Volume 1

Author: Brain K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Pages: 160

Genre: Graphic Novel, Sci-Fi

Format: Paperback

Publication Date: October 23rd 2012

My Rating: 5/5 stars

“Once upon a time, each of us was somebody’s kid. Everyone had a father, even if he never provided anything more than his seed. Everyone had a mother, even if she had to leave us on a stranger’s doorstep.”

Goodreads synopsis:

“Star Wars-style action collides with Game of Thrones-esque drama in this original sci-fi/fantasy epic for mature readers, as new parents Marko and Alana risk everything to raise their child amidst a never-ending galactic war.”

My review:

I really loved this graphic novel! I love the “forbidden” romance between Marko and Alana, they’re very caring parents. And totally badass too. The small family so far is adorable, especially with how they all care for each other. However, raising a family during a war has many difficulties but I’m still rooting for them though!

I loved the illustrations in this novel. A lot of thought was put into it. However, I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone who is uncomfortable with sexual content, because there were some graphic scenes in Saga. But if you are fine with it, I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND BECAUSE IT IS AMAZING AND SO ACTION PACKED! I was kept on edge because so many people were after them and I wasn’t sure if they would make it.

I loved how the story is narrated by the daughter of Marko and Alana. It’s like she’s next to us, telling us her life story in a vivid and interesting way.

I’m looking forward to reading the next volume soon as I want to know more about Hazel, her parents and the rest of the family.

love-stephanie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

