Book Review

Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat [mini review]

Title: Princes Gambit & Kings Rising

Author: C. S. Pacat

Pages: 384

Genre: Adult Fantasy

Format: Paperback

Publication Date: February 2nd 2016

My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

“I think if I gave you my heart, you would treat it tenderly.

Goodreads synopsis:

“Damianos of Akielos has returned.
His identity now revealed, Damen must face his master Prince Laurent as Damianos of Akielos, the man Laurent has sworn to kill.
On the brink of a momentous battle, the future of both their countries hangs in the balance. In the south, Kastor’s forces are massing. In the north, the Regent’s armies are mobilising for war. Damen’s only hope of reclaiming his throne is to fight together with Laurent against their usurpers.
Forced into an uneasy alliance the two princes journey deep into Akielos, where they face their most dangerous opposition yet. But even if the fragile trust they have built survives the revelation of Damen’s identity—can it stand against the Regents final, deadly play for the throne?”

My review:

If you haven’t read Captive Prince or Princes Gambit, I suggest you read those before you read this review, in case of spoilers. May contain mild spoilers.

I immensely enjoyed Kings Rising more than I enjoyed the other two books of this trilogy. The rape-y culture is less predominant which is good. So since Damen’s identity was revealed, the first half or so of the book was tense because I had no idea whether or not Laurent would take revenge in his brother’s name. But as the book progressed, the relationship between the two grew stronger and I adored how they would look out for each other and protect one another. My favourite scene of them would have to be when Laurent is drunk, oh my gosh! I reread the paragraphs so many times because it was just adorable!

I also really like Nik (I cannot remember the spelling of his full name so I’m gonna stick with Nik) and wished that he was more included in the story. I loved how loyal he was to Damen and what a good friend he was too.

There were many scenes where people tried to kill Laurent and Damen, especially the Regent. The ending was intense but it also leaves me unsatisfied because I want to know more and to see more of Laurent and Damen. The Regent is finally gone and I am glad.

I’m really hoping there is a spinoff or novella where we can see more of Laurent and Damen because I love them. Also, although I enjoyed the storyline of this trilogy, this does not in any way mean I condone the rape-y culture or slavery shown. In fact, I didn’t like Captive Prince for that reason.

love-stephanie

2 thoughts on “Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat [mini review]

Leave a Reply

