Book Review

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

Title: The Color Project

Author: Sierra Abrams

Pages: 464

Genre: Young adult contemporary

Format: E-arc

Publication Date: July 18th 2017

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

“I am light and stardust in his hands.”

Goodreads synopsis:

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

My review:

Sierra was kind enough to send me an e-arc of The Color Project for me to read and review. This does not in any way affect my review, all thoughts and feelings ARE MY OWN.

When I was sent an e-arc of this, I was so excited that I dived straight into it. Needless to say, I was not disappointed and LOVED IT SO SO MUCH! MY LOVE FOR THIS BOOK IS HUGE! I know a lot of this novel was based off of Sierra’s life, whether past, present or even her desired future. A lot of it must have been hard for her to write, but she did it beautifully and I’m so proud of her for sharing it with the world. I honestly loved almost everything about this book and I don’t know where to start with this review without revealing too much.

Okay, first up: Bee and Levi. I LOVE BOTH OF THEM SEPARATELY AND TOGETHER, THEY’RE JUST CUTENESS OVERLOAD! I apologise in advanced because most of this review will probably be me shouting in caps about how much I love The Color Project. Bee and Levi’s relationship was genuine and adorable and I loved how sweet all their interactions were. They were both compatible for each other and respected each other, which is a sign of a healthy relationship. Levi is a cinnamon roll and I want my own Levi. Anyways, this ship will forever sail in my heart.

Bee herself was an engaging character and I enjoyed reading about her passion for flower arrangement. She’s also a fellow a book lover and is a sweet girl. I found her to be very relatable, except the florist part because I can’t arrange flowers prettily. Bee’s insecurities are similar to my own and that made my connection to her stronger. Levi is definitely boyfriend material! He’s so sweet, generous and willing to sacrifice and the world needs more of him. I swear, if our world was populated with Levis, there would be little conflict and hate.

Although my love for these two is strong, at times I found them to be annoying. Only because they’re fights were petty and they let it build up for too long. A good relationship requires good communication. They had that at the start but it got worse as things happened. I say ’things’ because I do not want to spoil anything. I understand that it was hard for Bee and Levi alike, but the arguments they had could have been easily solved if they sat down and talked.

I love the concept of family in this novel. Bee’s family were close and loved each other dearly – it was very clear to see. I loved how they all teased each other, as family usually do, but they don’t push it too far and know when it is right to be in a joking mood. Bee’s family is the best! The sisters were a bundle of joy to read and, and it makes me wish I had sisters. They were also teasing Bee a lot about Levi and it was amusing. Tom doesn’t get shown a lot, but you can tell he was a good older brother who loved his sisters and I’m sad he doesn’t appear more often. BEE AND HER DAD ARE THE BEST! THEY’RE RELATIONSHIP IS SO SWEET AND LOVING AND WARM. I love how supportive and kind Bee’s father was, he knew all the right things to say to cheer his family up.

Despite Bee’s struggle to socialise with people, she has good friendships with many people. I loved how Bee was good friends, or at least familiar with Tom’s friends, especially with Keagen who was like another older brother for Bee. He’s also pretty good at advice giving. Bee’s best friend, Gretchen, lives miles and miles away from Bee, but their friendship is strong and it proves that no matter how far they are, long-distance friendships/relationships can work. Gretchen was always there for Bee and so understanding and supportive, and I loved that about her. She’s also the type of person to drop everything and rush to her best friend, if her best friend is in a crisis.

I love the concept of The Color Project, which is a charity that assists people who are struggling financially. The volunteers there are unique and friendly and so amusing. I think The Color Project is a great idea which should be implemented in our world becase it would help so many people. I loved reading how happy people were when they received money to curb their struggles. I have a particular couple in mind, but you’ll have to read this book to know who 😉

The Color Project had me hooked from the beginning, and it was honestly really hard to put down. I read as much of it as I could every time I had time because I read it when I had a busy schedule. I found the novel to be a little predictable, but even though it was predictable, my heart was still torn and my emotions went haywire. Thanks a lot Sierra ahah (I still love you, don’t worry). The Color Project made me teary eyed a lot, but from around Chapter 43, I was crying. I don’t usually cry when reading so I guess that goes to show how emotional and amazing this book is. GO READ IT EVERYONE. JUST BE PREPARED TO HAVE YOUR HEART TORN OUT AND TRAMPLED ON.

I rambled so much in this review, I’m sorry. BUT I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH AND I DIDN’T KNOW HOW TO PUT TOGETHER A STRUCTUAL REVIEW HEHE. I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WHO’S LOOKING FOR A CUTE CONTEMORARY (IT’D BE A PERFECT SUMMER READ)

love-stephanie

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s