Book Review

Jaeth’s Eye by K. S. Villoso

Title: Jaeth’s Eye

Author: K. S. Villoso

Pages: 372

Genre: Fantasy

Format: E-book

Publication Date: May 20th 2017

My Rating: 3/5 stars

“Some memories come at you like a wave. You’re not quite sure when the swell starts, but you know before it hits how it all ends; that after the rise and fall you will still be engulfed by the sea.

Goodreads synopsis:

GRR Martin meets M.Night Shyamalan. A story that combines the political and cultural landscape of epic fantasy with slow-creeping horrors and mysteries. Praised for complex character development and rich, diverse worldbuilding.

“The true story, as always, is in the details.”

The minor characters in an epic story are often forgotten, relegated to the dusty corners of a text; footnotes in a biased account that draws focus on the privileged, the named, and the powerful. This is a story from those shadows.

The lives of a mercenary, a seamstress, and a merchant converge. Kefier, who is picking up the pieces of his life after his brother’s accident, finds himself chased down by former associates for his friend’s death. Already once branded a murderer, he crosses paths with his friend’s sister, Sume, whose only desire is to see her family through some troubled times. In the meantime, young, arrogant Ylir takes a special interest in Kefier while he himself is entangled in a battle with a powerful mage, one whose name has been long forgotten in legend. At the crux of their conflict is a terrible creature with one eye, cast from the womb of a witch, with powers so immense whoever possesses it holds the power to bring the continent to its knees.

Jaeth’s Eye introduces an epic fantasy tale of revenge and lost kingdoms, but also of grief, love, hope, and a promise for tomorrow. The Agartes Epilogues gets to the heart of epic fantasy from the sidelines and is a must-read for the discerning fan.

My review:

I was sent an e-book of this by the author to read and review. That, however, does not affect my review in any way, shape or form.

This’ll be a shorter review because I don’t have much to say about it. I liked the prelude! The writing style was lovely and flowed nicely, making it easier to read. The novel jumped straight into action, making it immediately intriguing. The world building was done well, and very descriptive, although the places were difficult to pronounce so an appendix would have been nice to have, not just for the places but also for the characters. It was a great fantasy world building and I did like it.

However, there were some problems I had with it. For majority of the book, I was left confused about the plot and characters. Up until the middle of the book, I didn’t know who was who. I didn’t realise the main character was Kefier or what he’d done to have so many people after him. I didn’t understand anything. And that was a huge problem because for most of it, I lost interest and forced myself to skim through it, making it less enjoyable. For those who know me well, they’ll know that for me to love a book, I need to also love the characters, but in Jaeth’s Eye, I formed no connections to any of the characters and didn’t grow attached or care for them.

This book reminded me why I normally hate multiple points of views because there are too many things happening at once which confuses my poor brain. And when the characters meet/storyline overlap, I don’t realise it until much later. I don’t know if it was just me, but I felt there were way too many characters being introduced at once and I couldn’t keep up. I forgot who they were so when they were introduced, it caused a huge mess of confusion. And when I could finally keep up with the characters, the plot takes a sharp turn and I’d be left confused about what was happening. So basically, I was a mess of disorientation because of this novel.

It wasn’t until three quarters of the book that I sort of understood what was happening. By then, I had skimmed most of the novel and had lost interest in it overall. Although the ending was quite interesting and I’ll be reading the next book because I want to see if it’ll get better, and I think it deserves a second chance.

Although this book may not be for me, it might be for people who love high fantasy. Maybe high fantasy isn’t for me because of the multiple characters and huge plot. But I think if you’re interested by the synopsis, you should check it out!

love-stephanie

Leave a Reply

