Book Review

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Title: The Wrath And The Dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Pages: 388

Genre: Young adult fantasy, Retelling

Format: Paperback

Publication Date:

My Rating: 4/5 stars

“So you would have me throw Shazi to the wolves?”

“Shazi?” Jalal’s grin widened. “Honestly, I pity the wolves.” 

Goodreads synopsis:

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

My review:

I love retellings, and this was no exception! In all honesty, I was scared this wouldn’t love up to the hype that surrounds it, but it did and I ADORE it. Renee Ahdieh’s writing is beautiful and flows so well. Renee Ahidieh was able to embed humour into her writing so well and I was smiling a lot as I read. The story had me hooked from the beginning and Immediately knew it would be good – and I was not disappointed.

I absolutely loved Shahrzad’s character – from the moment she was introduced. I loved how headstrong, independent and true her heart was. Though at times, her inner conflict with the two males in her life annoyed me. But I think that is more a flaw in people that I personally dislike – not being true to yourself, like if you like someone, don’t lead the other person on. Anyways, I would have liked to see more of Shahrzad’s family because they seemed interesting. We get a glimpse of her father, but at the end of the novel I was completely confused by him. Like, I still don’t understand who he is or what happened. I was genuinely confused and it made me dislike the parts where his point of view came up.

At first, I didn’t like Khalid but I did feel sorry for him too. But as the novel progressed, I grew to love as Shahzrad discovered secrets surrounding him. But I seriously ship Khalid and Shahzrad! Khalid’s care and adoration for her is the sweetest thing ever! I also loved Jalal! I think he would be my favourite character out of the novel! He was a good person in general, an excellent soldier, a kind and understanding cousin and friend. He is not quick to judge and he trusts Shahzrad so much! He doesn’t jump to conclusions or seek to exploit her and I JUST LOVE HIM!! WHY DON’T PEOPLE TALK ABOUT HIM?? Also, I hate Tariq ahah, mostly because he is trying to get Shahzrad back and is interfering with my ship.

I found the world-building to be good as we get a good glimpse of not only the palace, we also see the outskirts of the city as the story is told in multiple points of view. We were basically whisked to a fantasy land, and I hope that in the sequel, we get to explore more of this wonderfully-crafted world.

I loved how each chapter had me wanting more, I could barely put it down (I had to sometimes though because life is busy). The ending isn’t so much a cliff-hanger but it has me wanting to know how it ends, the reacts of the characters – just more.

Despite me loving The Wrath And The Dawn, I did find the story to be dull sometimes. I think I would much prefer Shahrzad’s point of view and maybe Tariq’s. There were a couple more and sometimes they made me lose interest.

Anyways, for fans of retellings, I definitely recommend you check this out! Have you read this? What were your thoughts?

love-stephanie

5 thoughts on “The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

