GRACE & FURY BY TRACEY BANGHART ARC REVIEW

Title: Grace & Fury

Author: Tracy Banghart

Pages: 320

Genre: Young Adult: Fantasy

Format: Paperback ARC

Publication Date: July 26th 2018 by Hodder Children’s Books

My Rating: 3.75/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis:

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive.

Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace – selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman.

But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything.

Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

My review:

Thank you to Hachette Australia for sending me an ARC copy of this book to read and review. All thoughts are my own and have not been influenced in any way.

First of all, LOOK AT THIS GORGEOUS COVER!! I absolutely adore this cover, and the ARC copy has a powerful quote on it which is so meaningful to the story.

Grace & Fury Cover.jpg

Anyways, I’m going to be honest. The first time I tried to read this, I couldn’t get into it so I DNFed it and wasn’t planning on finishing it. Then a couple days later, I picked it up again and fell right into the story. I’m so glad I gave it a second chance because I actually did end up liking this novel.

THINGS I LIKED:

  • The dual POV, in my opinion, was very well done. Nomi and Serina both had unique and distinct voices, making it easier to read and understand the plot. For those of you who don’t know, I’m not a huge fan on multiple points of views, but I think that Tracey Banghart wrote it really well in this story.
  • I enjoyed Serina’s character development, watching her grow from a girl groomed to be a delicate Grace to a girl who stands up for her beliefs. I very much preferred Serina’s chapters over Nomi’s because I grew to like her more.
  • I ADORE Val, he’s such a sweet guy and I am so glad that he is there to help the girls on the prison island ❤ Although, I don’t know how I feel about his relationship to Serina, it just felt a little rushed and false.
  • The idea of the novel was intriguing, and the writing was engaging towards the middle of the book. We were able to get background info on the world and its history and I really liked how that was incorporated into the novel because it contributed greatly to the world building

THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE:

  • There are multiple plot twists in this, all of which are EXTREMELY predictable and cliché. I also noticed a VERY CLOSE similarity to the Red Queen’s plot twist, so the plot twists were not a wow factor at all. I’m a little disappointed because the novel would have done well with a strong and more surprising plot twist.
  • Although I did enjoy the characters, I didn’t connect to them at all, and didn’t really care for what happened to them. I’m a characters > plot person so it made me enjot the story less. Though this is a personal preference so you should read a couple of chapters to judge whether or not you’ll pick it up
  • As I mentioned above, this book did take me a while to get into. I felt the pacing of the beginning of the story was slow and was not gripping enough
  • I did like Nomi to some degree, for the most part I didn’t like her -> okay, I didn’t like how naïve and trusting she was to a royal male. The thing is, she is an independent girl and did not want a male to rule her life, and yet she trusted a male so easily.

Overall, I did enjoy this book aside from the clichés and the slow beginning. This book is perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection, and is a short novel (just over 300 pages) so it’s easy to get through. THE ENDING THOUGH!! It ended on a semi-cliffhanger, so I’ll definitely pick up the sequel (there’ll be a sequel right? It is plain cruel to just end it like that.)

ARE YOU PLANNING TO PICK UP THIS BOOK? IT RELEASES ON JULY 31ST-BEGINNING OF AUGUST, SO DO PICK UP A COPY IF YOU’RE INTERESTED!

love-stephanie

 


One thought on “GRACE & FURY BY TRACEY BANGHART ARC REVIEW

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s